Quick Steps to Delete, Deactivate Your Instagram Account [UPDATED] _ If you feel like what you want to get is a detailed guideline on how to completely erase and eliminate your account successfully. Then, let us help you!
Here’s the expert step-by-step guidelines on how to delete this present account you seek to unsubscribe from. Do well to also check out other updated articles on LATEST Scholarships, Jobs Abroad, Visa Informations etc.
About Instagram | You May Not Have Know All of This Before You Signed Up!
Instagram, like its parent company Facebook, has had its fair share of privacy scandals. Instagram poses a serious threat to your privacy, from Cambridge Analytica to leaking user passwords and automatically tracking your location by default.
It also shares your in-app activity with other users, such as likes, comments, interactions with stories, and so on. And, more recently, it has been informing other users when you are active, as well as when you were last active.
Furthermore, with new studies highlighting the negative effects of social media on mental health, it’s no surprise that a large number of people are ready to unfollow Instagram for good.
If you want to share less online, you should think about deleting or deactivating your social media accounts. If you’re ready, this article will show you how to delete your Instagram account permanently.
BE AWARE: App developers, internet service providers, and telecom companies can and do track, store, and sell every click, share, and download. Only a VPN, such as ExpressVPN, can protect you and keep third parties from collecting and selling your sensitive data.
Deactivating vs Deleting: What You Should Know
Depending on your preferences, you can deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram account.
Deactivating your account is only temporary, but it will hide your profile, followers, photos, likes, and comments from other users while it is deactivated. Simply logging back into your account will restore all of this information and allow you to resume normal Instagram usage.
Deleting your Instagram account is irreversible; a deleted account cannot be recovered. When you delete your Instagram account, all of your data, including photos, followers, likes, and so on, is permanently erased. If you sign up for Instagram again in the future, you will not be able to use the same username, nor will anyone else.
Deactivating an Instagram Account
Instagram cannot be deactivated via the app; it must be done via a web browser on the Instagram website. If you want to take a break from Instagram, follow these steps to deactivate your account:
- Log in to your Instagram account and click on the person icon to access your profile page.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and click ‘Temporarily disable my account.’
- When asked, “Why are you disabling your account?” choose a reason from the drop-down menu.
- Enter your password again and choose ‘Temporarily disable account.’
Your account has been deactivated and is now hidden from other users until you log in again.
NOTE: You can only deactivate your Instagram account once per week, according to Instagram’s usage policy.
How to Copy Your Instagram Data Before Deletion of Account
When you delete your Instagram account, all of your data is permanently lost and cannot be recovered.
As a result, before you delete your Instagram account, you should download all of the photos, videos, and other media that you have posted over time. To obtain a copy of your Instagram data, follow these steps:
- Select ‘Settings’ from your Instagram profile (gear icon).
- Click the ‘Privacy & Security’ tab and then the ‘Request Download’ button.
- Enter your email address, followed by your password, to receive a link to your Instagram data.
- Within 48 hours, you should receive an email titled ‘Your Instagram Data’ with a link to your data. Click the ‘Download Data’ button.
Quick Steps to Delete, Deactivate Your Instagram Account [UPDATED]
An Instagram account, like any other, can only be deleted via a web browser. Follow these simple steps to permanently delete your Instagram account:
- Log in to your Instagram account via the website.
- Log In After Permanently Deleting Instagram
- Navigate to the ‘Delete Your Account’ page on Instagram. Choose your reason for leaving from the drop-down menu.
- Deleting Instagram Permanently – Deleting Your Account Page
- Enter your password and then click the ‘Permanently delete my account’ button.
- Permanently Deleting Instagram – Delete My Account
Congratulations! Your Instagram account is now deleted.
Ways to Keep Your Data Private on Instagram
Many of us use a Cloud Storage Service to back up our important data and/or to store files. If you use one of these storage services, choose one that automatically encrypts your files. However, as the cloud provider holds the key to your encryption, they may be able to access your data and even share it with government authorities at their request.
You can get around this problem by manually encrypting your files yourself before uploading them to the cloud. Therefore, you will be the only one holding the key to your data. Your cloud provider will have no access, as long as you don’t also upload the encryption keys to the cloud.
There are a number of free encryption programs out there that are easy to use, even if you have no prior experience of manually encrypting your data.
Choose encryption software that is compatible with your computer and mobile operating systems, and with your cloud storage provider. Your encryption program should also have end-to-end encryption, and should never store your password.